Crop Biotech Update

Can Gene Drive Eliminate Vector-borne Diseases?

July 1, 2021

ISAAA, in partnership with the Outreach Network for Gene Drive Research and the Biotechnology Information Centers, will be conducting the third session of the Gene Drive Webinar Series. The next session titled Can gene drive eliminate vector-borne diseases? will be held on July 8, 2021, at 2 PM Manila (7 AM London/4 PM Sydney) via Zoom.

The potential uses and impacts of gene drive technologies are a topic of growing interest at the international and national levels in many countries. The Gene Drive Webinar Series aims to help promote a productive and balanced conversation on the benefits and risks of possible gene drive applications, providing factual and accurate information that can help place the discussion under the Convention on Biological Diversity in context.

On the third webinar of the series, experts will walk you through:

  • status of vector-borne diseases such as Malaria and Dengue in Africa and Asia;
  • importance of gene drive mosquitoes; and
  • usefulness and limitations of gene drive approaches in vector-borne diseases control

Registration to the webinar is free and open to all. Register now.

You might also like: