Biotech Updates

Bayer Science and Education Foundation Awards Young Scientists

November 26, 2010

Bayer Science and Education Foundation have announced the winners of the Bayer Early Excellence in Science Award for 2010. Dr. Oliver Daumke of Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine in Berlin received the award under the Biology category for his contributions to understanding structure and function of molecular growth switches called GTP-binding proteins. On the other hand, Prof. Nicolai Cramer of École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne in Switzerland received the award under the Chemistry category. He was noted for his extensive  research on new catalytic organometallic reactions for activation of carbon-hydrogen and carbon-carbon bonds. And lastly, Dr. Andreas Walther of Aalto University, Helsinki in Finland was awarded the prize in the Materials field for his contributions in the development of cost-effective hybrid materials for maritime, aviation, and aerospace applications.

The awardees who are successful in the early stages of their academic and scientific careers received prizes worth EURO 10,000 each.

Read the press release at