Biotech Updates

Agriscience Awards Honor Innovators

August 5, 2011

The Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation (CCFF) and the American Farm Bureau Federation presented awards to distinguished scientists, academicians, and high school students for their commendable innovation in the field of agricultural science.

Andrew Paterson, a distinguished research professor at the University of Georgia, received the CCFF Agricultural Science Distinguished Scientist Award. He used genomic tools and approaches to research on crop improvement, plant biodiversity, molecular evolution, and biofuel production efficiency.

Bhiravi Rathinasabapathi, a 2011 graduate of Eastside High School in Florida, was one of the semi-finalists in the Intel Science Talent Search. Her research dealt with the biofortification of crops with iron, which may eventually fight anemia.

Read more about the awardees at