Get updates on COVID-19 research at COVID-19 Resource
Crop Biotech Update

Regulatory and Governance Considerations for Gene Drive Research

July 14, 2021

ISAAA, in partnership with the Outreach Network for Gene Drive Research and the Biotechnology Information Centers, will be conducting the fourth session of the Gene Drive Webinar Series. The next session titled Regulatory and Governance Considerations for Gene Drive Research will be held on July 22, 2021, at 2 PM Manila (7 AM London/4 PM Sydney) via Zoom.

The potential uses and impacts of gene drive technologies are a topic of growing interest at the international and national levels in many countries. The Gene Drive Webinar Series aims to help promote a productive and balanced conversation on the benefits and risks of possible gene drive applications, providing factual and accurate information that can help place the discussion under the Convention on Biological Diversity in context.

On the fourth webinar of the series, experts will answer the following questions:

  • How are gene drives governed globally?
  • What are the available guidance resources for responsible research?
  • What are the requirements for engagement and public consultation?

The resource speakers include Dr. Flerida Cariño, a member of the Philippine Biosafety Committee; Dr. Andy Shepard, Research Director from CSIRO Health & Biosecurity Program; and Ms. Naima Sykes, Stakeholder Engagement Manager of Target Malaria. Dr. Vibha Ahuja, Chief General Manager of Biotech Consortium India Limited will serve as the moderator of the discussions.

Registration to the webinar is free and open to all. Sign up now.

You might also like: