Get updates on COVID-19 research at COVID-19 Resource
Crop Biotech Update

ISAAA Webinar: What is Gene Drive?

June 9, 2021

ISAAA, in partnership with the Outreach Network for Gene Drive Research and the Biotechnology Information Centers, will be conducting the Gene Drive Webinar Series. The first webinar titled What is Gene Drive? will be held on June 10, 2021, at 2 PM Manila (7 AM London/4 PM Sydney) via Zoom.

The potential uses and impacts of gene drive technologies are a topic of growing interest at the international and national levels in many countries. The Gene Drive Webinar Series aims to help promote a productive and balanced conversation on the benefits and risks of possible gene drive applications, providing factual and accurate information that can help place the discussion under the Convention on Biological Diversity in context.

For the first webinar, experts will tackle the following topics:

  • what gene drive is 
  • gene drive applications 
  • the history, precedents, and experiences in gene drive research

The resource persons in the webinar are Prof. Paul Thomas, Director of the South Australian Genome Editing (SAGE) Facility and Director of the Genome Editing Program at the University of Adelaide and South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI); and Dr. Prasad Paradkar, Group Leader of Health and Biosecurity at Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO). Krystal Birungi Mwesiga from Target Malaria of the Uganda Virus Research Institute will serve as the moderator of the discussions.

The webinar will be hosted by the ISAAA SEAsiaCenter. Registration to the webinar is free and open to all.

Sign up now to reserve a slot.

You might also like: