Biotech Updates

Panama and Mauritius Ratify Nagoya Protocol

January 9, 2013

Panama and Mauritius ratified the Nagoya Protocol on Access to Genetic Resources and the Fair and Equitable Sharing of Benefits Arising from their Utilization to the Convention on Biological Diversity last December 2012. They join the other nine countries that have ratified the Protocol: Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, India, Jordan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Mexico, Rwanda, and the Seychelles.

The Protocol aims to provide a greater legal certainty and transparency for providers and users of genetic resources to strengthen the opportunities for fair and equitable sharing of benefits from their use. It will be implemented 90 days after 50 countries have completed the ratification process.

Read the media release at