Get updates on COVID-19 research at COVID-19 Resource
Crop Biotech Update

2011 World Food Prize Laureates

June 24, 2011

The World Food Prize awarded John Agyekum Kufuor And Luiz Inácio Lula Da Silva as the 2011 Laureates because of their personal commitment and visionary leadership during their term as presidents of Ghana and Brazil, respectively. They created and implemented government policies to alleviate hunger and poverty in their respective territories.

President John Agyekum Kufuor implemented major economic and educational policies that increased the quality and quantity of food for Ghanaians, enhanced farmers' incomes, and improved school attendance and child nutrition through a nationwide feeding program. During his leadership, Ghana became the first country in Sub-Saharan Africa to cut in half the proportion of its population who suffers hunger, and the proportion that lives on less than a dollar a day.

On the other hand, President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva used Zero Hunger strategy which rapidly became one of the most successful food and nutritional security policies in the world. Brazil was also able to reduce by half the proportion of hungry people and the percentage of the people living in extreme poverty.

For more information, visit