Biotech Updates

Three Countries Ratify Nagoya Protocol

March 13, 2013

Albania, Botswana, and Micronesia are the latest countries that ratified the Nagoya Protocol on Access to Genetic Resources and the Fair and Equitable Sharing Benefits Arising from their Utilization to the Convention on Biological Diversity. Albania is the first country that ratified the Protocol in the Central and Eastern European region. On the other hand, Botswana is the 6th African country to ratify the Protocol while Micronesia is the latest small island developing state that ratified the Protocol.

The Protocol aims to provide a greater legal certainty and transparency for providers and users of genetic resources to strengthen the opportunities for fair and equitable sharing of benefits from their use. It will be implemented 90 days after 50 countries have completed the ratification process.

Read the media release at