Biotech Updates

ICAC Names Cotton Researchers of the Year

May 4, 2012

The International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC) has named two winners for the 2012 Cotton Researcher of the Year Award. Dr. Andrew Patterson from the USA and Dr. Yusuf Zafar from Pakistan are the 2012 awardees.

Dr. Patterson heads the University of Georgia's Plant Genome Mapping Laboratory (PGML), using genomics to do research on crop improvement, plant biodiversity and molecular evolution. Dr. Zafar is the Chief Scientist and Director General of the Agri and Biotechnology Division of Pakistan's Atomic Energy Commission. Both scientists have extensively published scientific papers in national and international journals.

The award is given yearly since 2009 to help increase awareness of the importance of research to the cotton industry, and is eligible only to researchers from ICAC member countries. A selection committee is comprised of five anonymous judges outside the ICAC Secretariat.

For more details about ICAC and the awards, visit