Biotech Updates

G20 Ag Ministers Commit to Work Together for Global Food Security Based on Sound Science

May 15, 2019

The Ministers of Agriculture of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, and the United States have met in Niigata, Japan during the G20 Niigata Agriculture Ministers' Meeting on May 12, 2019, affirming their intent to work together for global food security and agricultural trade on the basis of sound science and risk analysis principles.

The top agricultural officials include Argentine Secretary of Agroindustry Luis Miguel Etchevehere; Brazilian Minister of Agriculture, Livestock, and Food Supply Tereza Cristina Dias; Canadian Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food Marie-Claude Bibeau; Mexican Secretary of Agriculture and Rural Development Victor Villalobos; and U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue. Together, they issued the following statement:

"Together, we stand to work in partnership, and jointly with additional countries, to support regulatory approaches that are risk- and science-based, predictable, consistent, and transparent. Our five nations recognize that innovations in the agriculture sector contribute to improved productivity, including by smallholder and young farmers, and rural women, in a safe and sustainable manner, and to our countries' ability to meet the ever-growing global demand for food. With the world's population projected to reach 9.8 billion by 2050, science and innovation will play a key role in enabling agriculture producers to safely feed everyone.

"As Western Hemisphere agricultural leaders, we affirm our intent to work together to champion global agricultural trade based on sound science and risk analysis principles. We also affirm our intent to allow farmers and ranchers access to the tools needed to: increase productivity; reduce food loss and waste; protect soil, water, and biodiversity; and produce safe, nutritious, affordable food products year-round, to the benefit of the world population."

For more details, read the USDA press release, or read the G20 Agriculture Ministers' Declaration 2019.