Donor Support Groups

ISAAA has been principally sponsored by philanthropic foundations, and cosponsored by a donor support group consisting of public and private institutions. Donors commit funds on a fixed-term basis, which ensures transparency and accountability by subjecting ISAAA’s program under regular and rigorous peer review by donors.

Partners and Donors

  • African Agricultural Technology Foundation (AATF)
  • African Biosafety Network of Expertise (ABNE)
  • Alliance for Commodity Trade in Eastern and Southern Africa (ACTESA) of COMESA
  • Biosciences eastern and central Africa (BecA-ILRI Hub)
  • CropLife International
  • CropLife Asia
  • Department of Agriculture-Philippines
  • Donald Danforth Plant Science Center
  • FuturaGene
  • Intrexon
  • J.R. Simplot Company
  • Michigan State University (MSU)
  • Ministry of Industrialization and Enterprise Development 
  • National Commission for Science, Technology and Innovation (NACOSTI)
  • Program for Biosafety Systems of International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI)
  • Ram and Rashmi Charitable Foundation of the St. Louis Community
  • Society of Crop Agribusiness Advisors of Kenya (SOCAA)
  • United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)
  • UPLB Foundation Inc./Cornell University


  • Norman Borlaug (First Founding Patron)
  • Richard B. Flavell (USA)
  • Dafang Huang (China)
  • Jiro Kondo (Japan)
  • Gabrielle J. Persley (Australia/UK)
  • M.S. Swaminathan (India)
  • Marc vanMontagu (Belgium)