Position Statements on Biotechnology

Policy Statement on Modern Biotechnology

Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo Administration

The President of the Republic of the Philippines has approved the proposed Policy Statement on Modern Biotechnology last June 18, 2001.

"We shall promote the safe and responsible use of modern biotechnology and its products as one of several means to achieve and sustain food security, equitable access to health services, sustainable and safe environment, and industry development.

"We shall ensure that all technologies that we promote, including modern biotechnology, will provide farmers and fisherfolks the opportunity to increase their over-all productivity and income; enhance the welfare of consumers; promote efficiency, competitiveness, and improved quality standards of local industries - all within the paramount objective of attaining safety and sustainable development, including its human, social and environmental aspects.

" The Departments of Agriculture, Science and Technology, Health, Environment and Natural Resources, Trade and Industry, and other concerned agencies are hereby directed to address the current issues associated with the local and global dimensions and trends of modern biotechnology, including its potential health, environmental and social impacts. Towards this end, they shall conduct public consultations with representatives from civil society, government and business; formulate departmental directives and regulations on the access to and use of the products of modern biotechnology; coordinate activities and programs on research, development and application; and allocate appropriate resources for the upgrading of capacities and capabilities to effectively regulate the technology and its products, including but not limited to product testing and labeling."

Signed by:

  • Executive Secretary Alberto Romulo
  • Presidential Adviser on Agricultural Modernization Sec. Angelito Sarmiento
  • Dept. of Agrarian Reforms Sec. Hernani Braganza
  • Dept. of Science and Technology Sec. Estrella Alabastro
  • Dept. of Trade and Industry Sec. Manuel Roxas II
  • Dept. of Interior and Local Government Sec. Jose Lina, Jr.
  • Dept. of Budget and Management Sec. Emilia Boncodin
  • National Anti-Poverty Commission of the Philippines Lead Convenor Teresita Deles
  • Dept. of Agriculture Sec. Leonardo Montemayor
  • National Economic and Dev't Authority Dir. Gen. Dante Canlas
  • Dept. of Health Sec. Manuel Dayrit
  • Dept. of Environment and Natural Resources Heherson Alvarez
  • Dept. of Public Works and Highways Sec. Simeon Datumanong
  • Land Bank of the Philippines Pres. Margarito Teves
  • Commission on Higher Education Chair Ester Garcia

International Support:

  1. International Organizations
  2. Africa
  3. Asia
  4. Europe
  5. North America
  6. Latin America
  7. Oceania

International Organizations

- Food and Agricultural Organization
- Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development
- World Health Organization
- United Nations Development Programme
- United Nations Environment Programme
- Third World Academy of Sciences

- Agenda 21
- Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation
- Vatican Pontifical Academy on Life

- International Council for Science Union

- International Life Sciences Institute


- International Society of African Scientists
- United Nations Economic Commission for Africa
- Africabio
- South African Minister Ngubane's statement at WSSD
- National Biotechnology Strategy for South Africa
- Former Kenyan President Moi's letter to US President Clinton

- Nigerian President Obasanjo's Statement


- Asian Development Bank
- Chinese Academy of Sciences
- Indian National Academy of Sciences
- National Academy of Science and Technology (Philippines)
- Former Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir's Speech at BioMalaysia 2002
- Policy Statement on Biotechnology (Philippines)


- Royal Society of London

- Prime Minister Blair's speech

- European Commission

- French Academy of Science

North America


United States of America

- American Medical Association
- American Society for Microbiology
- National Academy of Sciences
- National Research Council
- American Society of Plant Biologists
- Federation of Animal Science Societies
- American Midwest Farmers

  • American Agri-Women
  • American Soybean Association
  • National Chicken Council
  • National Corn Growers Association
  • National Cotton Council
  • National Milk Producers Federation
  • National Potato Council
  • National Turkey Federation
  • United Soybean Board


- Canadian Biotechnology Advisory Committee
- The Royal Society of Canada (The Canadian Academy of the Sciences and Humanities)
- Industry Canada (Federal Department of Industry)
- The 1998 Canadian Biotechnology Strategy: A Ongoing Renewal Process

Latin America

- Brazilian Academy of Sciences
- Mexican Academy of Sciences


- New Zealand Royal Commission

- Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization
- Australia New Zealand Food Authority
- Australian Biotechnology: A National Strategy (2000)

- National Farmers' Federation

Home :: Global Status :: CBT Update :: Info Resource :: Events :: BICs :: Directory :: About Us :: Editorial Policy

Copyright © 2006. CropBiotech Net.